Google Warns Gmail Users of Potential Account Deletion

Google has issued a warning to Gmail users, notifying them that their accounts may be deleted starting from the beginning of December. The deletion will only apply to inactive accounts, meaning those that have not been logged into for two years or more. Google’s move is aimed at improving account security, as old and unused accounts may pose a risk of being compromised and used for online crime.

To avoid deletion, users need to log into their Gmail accounts or use the same login credentials for activities such as accessing YouTube, making Google searches, or downloading apps from the Play Store. Accounts that hold money in the form of gift cards will be exempt from deletion.

Google had previously announced its plan to delete inactive accounts, citing security concerns related to the use of old or reused passwords, lack of two-factor authentication, and fewer security checks by users.

The company is providing ample time for affected users to secure any accounts they wish to keep active. By removing unused and potentially vulnerable accounts, Google aims to enhance overall account safety and reduce the risk of unauthorized access or cybercrimes.

Bibi Zuhra
Bibi Zuhra
Bibi Zuhra has a Master's degree in public administration and a Certificate in Entrepreneurship from Santa Rosa Junior college (California). Bibi has worked in research & marketing, and in policymaking, and also has more than four years of experience as an SEO Content Writer, and news articles for e-commerce, tourism, business, education, and lifestyle. she believe words have the power to change the world, and she try to do that through her work.

Similar Articles

Comments

Most Popular